Glass – same but different!

Starting in the early nineteen-nineties, when a growing environmental movement in Germany caused a profound change of views regarding our dealings with nature and available resources, LAMBERTS already began to concentrate on ecological improvement of all relevant corporate processes, especially the production.

This is all the more motivated by the fact that we are based in the natural preserve region of the "Fichtelgebirge" in the heart of wonderful nature since 1887. Company founder Laurenz Lamberts chose Wunsiedel-Holenbrunn due to its perfect geographic location, where he was able to manufacture glass from locally mined, natural products.

In a first step, we analyzed and scrutinized the manufacturing method (the melting furnace and the firing method) as well as the use of recycled glasses from our own and economic cycle.

Over the years all measures were combined in our concept "LAMBERTS EcoGlass" which is still unique in the field of architectural and structural glass.

What's LAMBERTS EcoGlass?

The concept of EcoGlass is based on six pillars making it one of the most sustainable construction products available:

 

1. Oxygen-fired furnace

Since 1996 LAMBERTS is the first and only cast glass company in the world to manufacture all glass types using an oxygen-fired melting furnace which is the most ecologically sustainable method available. This pioneering step was implemented due to our deep conviction that production processes should be evaluated and improved in terms of environmental friendliness. Through the years LAMBERTS continuously made an effort to gradually enhance all production processes.

2. Percentage of recycled glass in the molten glass

At LAMBERTS we recycle 100 % of our glass rejects during production and use up to 50 % recycled glass from the economic cycle by means of optimized production processes.

3. Green energy

As of 2011 all of Glasfabrik LAMBERTS, from the computers in the administrative offices to the melting furnaces in production – is solely powered by more expensive green electricity – a decision made deliberately. Since the beginning in 1887 our factory is located in Wunsiedel, Bavaria. Wunsiedel is probably one of the leading green cities in Germany as the energy made available by the Stadtwerke (municipal works) is 100 % green and generated 100 % in Bavarian run-of-river power stations.

4. Sustainability

LAMBERTS EcoGlass is 100 % reusable if it – for whatever reasons – needs to be disposed in the future. When it is melted down, no harmful side effects are created whatsoever. On the contrary! The melting down of our glasses would have additional environmental benefits.

5. Antimony free glasses

For decades all glasses manufactured at LAMBERTS, including the solar glasses for photovoltaics and the collector industry, are made without cheap antimony. This raw material has been under suspicion to be carcinogenic for a long time.

6. Low CO2 emissions

The Glasfabrik LAMBERTS is one of the best architectural cast glass companies in the world while also ensuring lowest CO2 emissions (see downloads: Environmental Product Declaration).


All those measures and many more individual actions result in the fact, that we are not only offering you glass products successfully contributing to architecture as an application-specific, ecological material for many years, but also in the fact that the glasses are manufactured in the most environmentally friendly way currently available.

CO2 emissions

In 2017 and in a very complex and detailed process we started to develop an Environmental Product Declaration (EPD) for all our glass products according to the current standards of DIN EN ISO 14025 and EN 15804 to be able to provide concrete proof. This happened in cooperation with the renowned and accredited glass institute "ift Rosenheim" and also includes the consumption data of the company among other things (see downloads below). The outstanding results for our sector speak for themselves and it's a given that we are also certified according to DIN ISO 14001.

When the ecological aspects of your glass are important to you, please compare the glasses of other companies and request their latest EPDs according to current standards!

Reduce plastic

By the way, you can easily help, e.g. by purchasing glass instead of plastic bottles or looking out for other ways to avoid plastic products.

Learn more here: www.wwf.org.uk/updates/take-action-plastic

Products of highest quality according to strict environmental demands

Meanwhile the conviction prevails that eco-friendly construction materials are contributing to environmental issues in general but also to an increase in value of projects – especially when buildings are constructed according to the leading environmental rating systems and labels of the respective countries. Due to the aforementioned EPD planners and investors now have an additional basis for the use of LAMBERTS glasses in such projects.

Downloads

Glas ist nicht gleich Glas!

Bereits Anfang der 1990er, als eine immer stärker werdende Umweltbewegung in Deutschland die Menschen zu einem tiefgreifenden Nach- und Umdenken in Bezug auf den Umgang mit der Natur und den vorhandenen Ressourcen brachte, begann LAMBERTS, sich intensiv mit der ökologischen Verbesserung aller relevanten Unternehmensprozesse, insbesondere in der Produktion, zu beschäftigen.

Umso mehr motiviert, als wir seit 1887 im Fichtelgebirge mit seiner wunderbaren Natur leben und sich der Firmengründer Laurenz Lamberts Wunsiedel-Holenbrunn wegen seiner perfekten geographischen Lage aussuchte, weil er hier Glas aus regional abgebauten Naturprodukten herstellen konnte.

In einem ersten Schritt wurde dabei die Herstellungsmethode (Art des Schmelzofens und Befeuerung) sowie die verstärkte Verwendung von recycelten Gläsern aus dem eigenen und dem volkswirtschaftlichen Kreislauf analysiert und hinterfragt.

Sämtliche Maßnahmen bündelten wir über die Jahre zu unserem Konzept „LAMBERTS EcoGlass“, das im Bereich „Bau- und Architekturglas“ nach wie vor einzigartig ist.

Was ist LAMBERTS EcoGlass?

Das Konzept von EcoGlass beruht auf sechs Säulen, die es zu einem der nachhaltigsten
Bauprodukte machen:

1. Sauerstoff befeuerter Schmelzofen

LAMBERTS ist seit 1996 der erste und einzige Architekturglashersteller der Welt, der alle seine Gläser mit Hilfe eines sauerstoff-befeuerten Glasschmelzofens fertigt, was derzeit die ökologisch nachhaltigste Methode ist. Dieser revolutionäre Pionierschritt basierte auf der tiefen Überzeugung, dass Produktionsprozesse auch nach Umweltfreundlichkeit bewertet und verbessert werden sollten. LAMBERTS hat seine Produktionsprozesse im Laufe der Jahre kontinuierlich Schritt für Schritt verbessert.

2. Recyclingglas-Anteil der Glasschmelze

LAMBERTS recycelt 100% seines Glasausschusses während der Produktion und verwendet durch optimierte Produktionsprozesse bis zu 50% Altglas aus dem volkswirtschaftlichen Kreislauf.  

3. Grüner Strom

Seit dem Jahre 2011 wird in der gesamten Glasfabrik LAMBERTS, von den PCs in der Verwaltung bis zum Schmelzofen in der Produktion, bewusst und ausschließlich teurer Grüner Strom verwendet. Seit ihren Anfängen im Jahre 1887 befindet sich unsere Fabrik ausschließlich in Wunsiedel, Bayern. Wunsiedel ist wahrscheinlich eine der führenden grünen Städte in Deutschland, der von den Stadtwerken bereitgestellte Strom ist zu 100% Grünstrom und wird zu 100% in bayerischen Laufwasserkraftwerken produziert.

4. Nachhaltigkeit

LAMBERTS EcoGlass ist 100% wiederverwertbar, wenn es, aus welchen Gründen auch immer, in der Zukunft einmal entsorgt werden sollte. Wenn es wieder eingeschmolzen wird, entstehen keinerlei schädliche Nebeneffekte. Ganz im Gegenteil! Das Einschmelzen unserer Gläser hätte sogar zusätzliche ökologische Vorteile.

5. Antimon-freie Gläser!

Alle Gläser von LAMBERTS, inklusive der Solargläser für Photovoltaik und für die Kollektorindustrie, werden schon seit Jahrzehnten ohne den billigeren Rohstoff Antimon erzeugt, der seit langem unter strengem Verdacht steht, krebserzeugend zu sein.

6. Niedrigste CO2-Emissionen

Die Glasfabrik LAMBERTS gehört zu den weltweit besten Architekturglasherstellern bei niedrigsten CO2-Emissionen (siehe Downloads: Umweltproduktdeklaration).

 

All diese und viele weitere Einzelmaßnahmen führen dazu, dass wir Ihnen nicht nur Glasprodukte anbieten, die seit vielen Jahren in der Architektur erfolgreich ihren ökologischen, weil anwendungstechnischen Beitrag leisten, sondern diese auch noch auf die derzeit umweltfreundlichste Art und Weise hergestellt werden.

CO2-Emissionen

Um auch einen konkreten Nachweis führen zu können, haben wir 2017 in einem sehr aufwändigen und detaillierten Prozess in Zusammenarbeit mit dem renommierten, akkreditierten Glasinstitut ift Rosenheim für alle unsere Glasprodukte eine Produktumwelterklärung, eine sog. Environmental Product Declaration (EPD), nach den aktuellen Normen der DIN EN ISO 14025 und EN 15804 erarbeitet (siehe Download-Bereich unten), in die u.a. auch die Verbrauchsdaten des Unternehmens eingeflossen sind. Die für unsere Branche herausragenden Ergebnisse sprechen für sich. Die Zertifizierung nach DIN ISO 14001 ist dabei natürlich auch selbstverständlich.

Wenn Ihnen also die ökologische Seite des zu verwendenden Glases wichtig ist, vergleichen Sie bitte und fordern Sie aktuell gültige EPDs nach den aktuellen Normen anderer Gläser und Unternehmen an!

Weniger Plastik

Im Übrigen können Sie auch schon in Ihrem täglichen Leben und Verhalten mit einfachen Mitteln mithelfen, wenn Sie z.B. mehr aus Glas- statt Kunststoff-Flaschen trinken und vermehrt nach Möglichkeit versuchen, Produkte aus Kunststoff zu vermeiden.

Mehr dazu unter www.wwf.de/aktuell/plastikflut-stoppen.

Hochwertigste Projekte nach strengsten Umweltanforderungen

Inzwischen setzt sich schrittweise die Überzeugung auch bei Glas durch, dass die Verwendung von ökologischen Bauprodukten einen Beitrag zur Umweltfreundlichkeit allgemein, aber auch zu einer Wertsteigerung von Projekten führen kann, insbesondere, wenn Gebäude nach den in den jeweiligen Ländern führenden Umwelt-Ratingsystemen und -Labels gebaut werden. Durch die genannte EPD haben die Planer und Investoren nun auch eine zusätzliche exzellente Grundlage für die Verwendung von LAMBERTS-Gläsern in derartigen Projekten.

Downloads